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Notice to Readers 

 
This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts and special acts) significantly affecting 

crime and public safety enacted during the 2019 regular legislative session. OLR’s other Acts 

Affecting reports, including Acts Affecting First Responders, are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s 

website: https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp.  

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) or special act (SA) number. Not all provisions of the 

acts are included. The report does not include bonding provisions. The report does not include 

vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. Complete summaries of public acts are, or will soon 

be, available on OLR’s website: https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/olrpasums.asp..  

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 

Library, House Clerk’s Office, or General Assembly’s website: http://www.cga.ct.gov.  
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Table on Penalties 

The law authorizes courts to impose imprisonment, fines, or both when sentencing a convicted 

criminal. Table 1 displays the range of prison terms and fines that judges may impose for each 

classification of crime. Some crimes have a mandatory minimum sentence not specified in the 

table. Also, repeated or persistent offenders may face higher sentences than specified here. 

 

Table 1: Crime Classifications and their Penalties 
 

Felony or Misdemeanor Prison Term Fine 

Class A felony—murder with 
special circumstances 

Life without the 
possibility of release 

Up to $20,000 

Class A felony—murder 25 to 60 years Up to $20,000 

Class A felony—aggravated sexual 
assault of a minor 

25 to 50 years Up to $20,000 

Class A felony 10 to 25 years Up to $20,000 

Class B felony—1st degree 
manslaughter with a firearm 

5 to 40 years Up to $15,000 

Class B felony 1 to 20 years Up to $15,000 

Class C felony 1 to 10 years Up to $10,000 

Class D felony Up to 5 years Up to $5,000 

Class E felony Up to 3 years Up to $3,500 

Class A misdemeanor Up to 1 year Up to $2,000 

Class B misdemeanor Up to 6 months Up to $1,000 

Class C misdemeanor Up to 3 months Up to $500 

Class D misdemeanor Up to 30 days Up to $250 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



2019-R-0146 July 18, 2019 Page 6 of 24 
 

Crimes and Penalties 

2nd Degree Assault with a Firearm 

A new law conforms the maximum penalties for 2nd degree assault with a firearm to the maximum 

penalties for the underlying 2nd degree assault offense. But as under existing law, the new law 

imposes a one year mandatory minimum for 2nd degree assault with a firearm sentences. 

 

Under existing law, 2nd degree assault is a class D felony. If it caused serious physical injury, it is a 

class C felony. Under existing law, 2nd degree assault with a firearm is a class D felony, but the new 

law increases the penalty to a class C felony if it caused serious physical injury  (PA 19-132, § 4, 

effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Advance Deposit Wagers at Off-Track Betting (OTB) Facilities 

A new law explicitly prohibits any unauthorized person or business from conducting OTB or 

accepting OTB wagers or advance deposit wagers (i.e., an OTB wager on racing events using a 

telephone or other electronic means) in Connecticut. Under the new law, (1) a violation is an unfair 

trade practice and (2) violators are subject to the penalties for professional gambling and 

transmitting gambling information, both of which are class A misdemeanors (PA 19-117, § 359, 

effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Alcoholic Beverages Tax  

A new law generally increases the excise tax on alcoholic beverages, except for beer, by 10%. It also 

requires sellers to pay an additional tax on the alcoholic beverages (except for beer) in their 

inventories as of the opening of business on October 1, 2019. 

 

As under the alcoholic beverages tax law, taxpayers who willfully fail to pay the inventory tax, file 

returns, keep required records, or supply required information regarding the tax are subject to a 

fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up to one year, or both, in addition to any other penalties 

the law imposes. Similarly, willfully delivering or disclosing to the Department of Revenue Services 

(DRS) commissioner or his authorized agent any document known to be fraudulent or false is a 

class D felony. 

 

Failure to file a report and pay the tax on time is grounds for revoking any other DRS-issued license 

or permit the seller possesses (PA 19-117, §§ 352 & 353, effective October 1, 2019; tax rate 

provisions are applicable to sales occurring on or after that date). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=996
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117


2019-R-0146 July 18, 2019 Page 7 of 24 
 

Criminal Lockout 

A new law extends protections against criminal lockout to commercial lessees. Under the new law, 

a landlord, among others, is guilty of criminal lockout if he or she deprives a tenant, including 

lessees, access to a nonresidential unit or the tenant’s possessions without a court order. Under 

existing law and the act, criminal lockout is a class C misdemeanor (PA 19-132, § 5, effective 

October 1, 2019). 

 

Fentanyl 

A new law expressly codifies the classification of fentanyl (a synthetic opioid analgesic) as a 

narcotic substance. By law, the penalties for certain illegal actions involving narcotics are higher 

than those for certain other non-narcotic controlled substances. These actions include illegally 

manufacturing, distributing, selling, and prescribing the substances (PA 19-38, effective October 1, 

2019). 

 

Firearm Storage 

Two new laws expand the firearm storage laws. Under prior law, the legal duty to securely store a 

firearm applied when the weapon was loaded and the person in control of the premises knew or 

reasonably should have known that a minor under age 16 was likely to gain access to it without his 

or her parent's or guardian's permission. One of the new laws applies the safe storage requirement 

to unloaded firearms and increases the age of a minor for these purposes to under age 18. By law, 

criminally negligent storage of a firearm is a class D felony (PA 19-5, §§ 1-3, effective October 1, 

2019).  

 

Another new law prohibits, with exceptions for law enforcement, storing or keeping a handgun in an 

unattended motor vehicle if the firearm is not in the trunk or a locked safe or glove box. A first 

offense is a class A misdemeanor and subsequent offenses are a class D felony. For these 

purposes, a motor vehicle is unattended if no one who is at least age 21 and who is the owner, 

operator, or a passenger is inside the vehicle or in close enough proximity to prevent unauthorized 

access to the vehicle.  

 

It also allows the court to suspend the criminal proceedings for violating the act’s storage 

requirements under certain circumstances. During the suspension, the violator must comply with 

certain court-ordered conditions while in Court Support Services Division (CSSD) custody (i.e., on 

probation). The act allows the court to dismiss the charges if he or she complies with the court 

order and successfully completes probation (PA 19-7, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=996
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=38
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=5
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7223
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Ghost Guns 

A new law generally prohibits anyone from completing the manufacture of a firearm without 

subsequently obtaining and engraving or permanently affixing on it a unique serial number or other 

identification mark from the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) (i.e., 

creating a “ghost gun”).   

 

The new law also generally prohibits: 

1. manufacturing a firearm from a plastic that a walk-through metal detector cannot detect; 

2. transferring “ghost guns,” except to law enforcement; 

3. aiding the manufacture of a firearm for certain people who are prohibited from owning or 

possessing a firearm; 

4. purchasing, receiving, selling, delivering, or transferring an unfinished frame or lower 

receiver without an identification mark or unique serial number or satisfying certain other 

requirements; and 

5. possessing an unfinished frame or lower receiver if the person is ineligible to possess a 

firearm under state or federal law. 

 

Under the new law, the above prohibited actions are class C felonies. There is a $5,000 minimum 

fine unless the court states on the record its reasons for remitting or reducing it. Violators must 

forfeit any such firearms in their possession (PA 19-6, most provisions effective October 1, 2019).  

 

Ignition Interlock Devices 

Existing law prohibits a person required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) from, among other 

things, driving a vehicle without a functioning IID or that the court has ordered the person not to 

operate.   

 

A new law provides that anyone who completes the terms of a license suspension and is eligible for 

reinstatement if the person installs and uses an IID is prohibited from operating any vehicle until he 

or she has installed the device and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner 

reinstates the license. In doing so, the act extends the existing penalties for operating a motor 

vehicle without a required IID to violations of this provision. These penalties range from a fine of up 

to $500, up to one year imprisonment with a 30-day mandatory minimum to up to $1,000 fine, up 

to three years imprisonment, with a one-year mandatory minimum (PA 19-119, § 8, effective 

October 1, 2019). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7219
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=924
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Interior Design Services 

A new law extends the sales and use tax to interior design services described in industry group 

54141 of the North American Industry Classification System, excluding such services that are 

purchased by a business for use by such business.  

 

To qualify for this, the purchaser must present a certificate, prescribed by the DRS commissioner, 

to the seller. Anyone who willfully delivers to a seller a certificate that is known to be materially 

fraudulent or false is guilty of a class D felony, in addition to any other penalty the law provides (PA 

19-117, §§ 325 & 326, effective January 1, 2020, and applicable to sales occurring on or after 

that date). 

 

Negligent Homicide with a Motor Vehicle and Illegal Racing 

A new law increases the maximum fine and prison sentence for causing someone else’s death 

through the negligent operation of a motor vehicle, regardless of the type of vehicle. Under prior 

law, such negligent operation of a (1) non-commercial motor vehicle was punishable by a fine of up 

to $1,000, up to six months in prison, or both or (2) commercial motor vehicle was punishable by a 

fine of up to $2,500, up to six months in prison, or both. Under the act, such negligent operation of 

any motor vehicle is punishable by a fine of up to $3,500, up to three years in prison, or both. 

 

The law also increases the penalties for driving a motor vehicle on a public road for purposes of 

betting, racing, or making a speed record. Under prior law, a first offense was punishable by a fine 

of $75 to $600, up to one year in prison, or both; and any subsequent offense was punishable by a 

fine of $100 to $1,000, up to one year in prison, or both. Under the act, the minimum fine is raised 

to $150 for a first offense and $300 for any subsequent offense and the DMV commissioner must 

require anyone convicted of such driving to attend an operator’s retraining program (PA 19-53, 

effective October 1, 2019).     

 

Sexual Assault Parity 

Recent legislation repeals the law that specifically criminalized sexual assault in a spousal or 

cohabiting relationship but simultaneously subjects married individuals to penalties for other sexual 

assault offenses. It does so by repealing exemptions for married individuals from the definitions of 

“sexual intercourse” and “sexual contact” in the sexual offenses statutes (e.g., sexual assault). 

 

Under prior law, it was a class B felony for a spouse or cohabitor to compel the other spouse or 

cohabitor to engage in sexual intercourse by the use of force or threatened use of force that 

reasonably caused the other person to fear physical injury (PA 19-189, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=117
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7378
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=7396
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Voyeurism and “Upskirting” 

A new law specifies that the ban on conduct sometimes referred to as “upskirting” applies when 

the victim has a reasonable expectation of privacy, regardless of whether the victim is in public. The 

act also specifies that, for purposes of all conduct constituting voyeurism, a person is not “in plain 

view” if the view is achieved by photographing or recording under or around the person’s clothing 

(PA 19-14, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Criminal Procedure 

Abridged Presentence Investigation Report 

Except for murder with special circumstances, existing law requires a probation officer to conduct a 

presentence investigation (PSI) for anyone convicted of a (1) felony for the first time in Connecticut 

or (2) family violence felony for which a prison sentence may be imposed. For any other criminal 

conviction, the court may order a presentence investigation in its discretion.  

 

A new law permits the court to order an abridged PSI in lieu of a full one. The abridged PSI must 

contain certain specified information. Abridged PSIs for a felony involving family violence must 

additionally include information about the defendant’s (1) family background, (2) significant 

relationships or children, (3) mental health status, and (4) substance abuse history (PA 19-64, § 

12, effective July 1, 2019).  

 

Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) and 

Criminal Defendants   

A new law codifies existing practice by allowing DMHAS, without going to court, to involuntarily 

medicate certain criminal defendants in its custody who (1) were found incompetent to stand trial 

and (2) are unable or unwilling to consent to medication to treat their psychiatric disabilities.  

 

The act applies only if obtaining consent would cause a medically harmful delay to the patient with 

a condition of an extremely critical nature, as determined by personal observation of a physician or 

the senior clinician on duty (PA 19-99, effective upon passage). 

 

Diversionary Program Record Sealing 

Under a new law, courts must seal a defendant’s records to the public when the defendant applies 

for the pretrial alcohol education program, pretrial drug education and community service program, 

or school violence prevention program. Under prior law, the records were sealed at specified later 

points in the process (e.g., for the drug education program, after the person paid required program 

fees) (PA 19-151, §§ 4-6, effective upon passage).  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=14
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=964
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=99
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=151
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Gay and Transgender Panic Defense Banned 

A new law prohibits criminal defendants from claiming a defense based solely on the person’s 

discovery of, or the potential disclosure of, the victim’s actual or perceived sex, sexual orientation, 

or gender identity or expression (“gay or transgender panic” defense). This includes situations in 

which (1) the victim made an unwanted, nonforcible, advance toward the defendant or (2) the 

defendant and victim dated or had a romantic relationship (PA 19-27, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

Jailhouse Witnesses 

A new law allows a criminal defendant, by filing a written request with the court, to ask the 

prosecutor if he or she intends to introduce the testimony of a jailhouse witness in the prosecution. 

Under the act, a jailhouse witness is a person who is incarcerated when he or she offers to provide 

testimony concerning statements a defendant or suspected perpetrator made. 

 

The act requires the prosecutor to respond within certain specified timeframes and allows the court 

to limit the disclosures to defense counsel only if the disclosure may result in possible bodily harm 

to the witness. 

 

The act also (1) requires the court, upon the defendant’s motion in a case for murder or certain 

other serious felony offenses, to conduct a hearing at which hearsay and secondary evidence are 

admissible to decide whether a jailhouse witness’s testimony is reliable and admissible and (2) 

specifies the information and materials the court may consider when determining the witness’s 

reliability (PA 19-131, as amended by PA 19-132, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Jury Selection Task Force 

A new law establishes a 15-member task force to study the state’s juror selection process. The 

study’s objective is to ensure that the state’s selection processes encompass a full and fair 

representation of the community. By July 1, 2020, the task force must report to the Judiciary 

Committee and the chief court administrator (PA 19-151, § 1, effective upon passage). 

 

Persistent Larceny Offenders 

By law, the “persistent larceny offender” law allows courts to impose sentence enhancements on 

defendants awaiting sentencing for 4th, 5th, or 6th degree larceny who have two prior larceny 

convictions. A new act limits this law to only those defendants whose two prior convictions were 

within 10 years of the present conviction.  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=27
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=1098
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=SB00996&which_year=2019
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=151
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It also reduces the possible sentence enhancement to the prison term for the next most serious 

degree of crime (e.g., for 6th degree larceny, which is a class C misdemeanor, the court may set the 

sentence for a class B misdemeanor). Prior law allowed the court to impose the sentence for a 

class D felony (PA 19-151, § 3, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Prosecutorial Transparency 

A new law establishes new prosecutorial data collection and reporting requirements for various 

agencies. Among other things, the new law requires the: 

1. Division of Criminal Justice, in consultation with various state entities, to (a) collect 

disaggregated, case level data on adult defendants and (b) starting by February 1, 2021, 

annually provide the data to the Office of Policy and Management (OPM);  

2. Board of Pardons and Paroles, starting by January 1, 2021, to annually report to the OPM 

secretary, and make available online, specified parole-related case level data including 

parole hearing outcomes and demographic information; 

3. OPM, starting by July 1, 2020, to annually present prosecutorial data to the Criminal Justice 

Commission, report the presentation to the Judiciary Committee, and make it available on its 

website; and 

4. state’s chief public defender, within available appropriations, to establish a pilot program to 

provide representation to individuals at parole revocation hearings (PA 19-59, most 

provisions effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Public Defender Services 

Under a new law, when the court appoints counsel in a juvenile court civil proceeding and orders 

the Division of Public Defender Services (DPDS) to provide the counsel, the judicial department and 

DPDS must share the cost. Under prior law, DPDS was responsible for the cost.  

 

Under the new law, if the party for whom counsel is appointed is found able to pay part or all of the 

cost, the court must order him or her to reimburse DPDS and the judicial department to the extent 

he or she is financially able to do so. Under prior law, the party had to reimburse DPDS to this 

extent if able to do so.    

 

When the court appoints counsel in a juvenile court criminal proceeding and orders DPDS to 

provide the counsel, the act specifies that DPDS must incur the cost, and the court must order the 

party to reimburse the division to the extent that he or she is financially able to do so if the party is 

found able to pay part or all of the cost (PA 19-64, §§ 3 & 11, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=151
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=59
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=964
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Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment 

This year, the legislature made several changes to laws on sexual assault, workplace sexual 

harassment, and related issues. This includes several changes to the criminal statute of limitations, 

such as: 

1. eliminating the statute of limitations for offenses involving sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, 

or sexual assault of a minor and 

2. extending the default statute of limitations for (a) such offenses involving victims age 18, 

19, or 20, until the victim’s 51st birthday and (b) other felony sexual assault cases to 20 

years. 

 

The new laws also increase the penalty for subjecting someone to sexual contact if the victim is 

mentally incapacitated or impaired because of a mental disability to the extent that he or she 

cannot consent (PA 19-16, as amended by PA 19-93, most provisions effective October 1, 2019, 

and changes to the criminal statute of limitations apply to crimes committed on or after that date or 

crimes committed before then if the limitations period had not expired by that date). 

 

Special Parole 

A new law requires the Judicial Branch’s Office of Victim Services to notify certain victims that the 

Board of Pardons and Paroles intends to consider terminating a person’s special parole period. It 

allows any victim to submit a statement to the board about such special parole termination. The 

new law also makes various changes to the parole and special parole review processes, including 

establishing a panel and process for special parole that is separate and distinct from the regular 

parole review process (PA 19-84, most provisions effective upon passage). 

 

Study on Potential Pretrial and Sentencing Disparities 

A new law requires the Sentencing Commission to study potential disparities in pretrial and 

sentencing outcomes related to the racial, ethnic, gender, and socioeconomic status of a criminal 

defendant. Under the new law, the commission must have access to the state's criminal justice 

databases and Information Sharing System. The commission must also submit (1) an interim report 

on the study to the Judiciary Committee by January 1, 2020, and (2) a final report with any 

recommendations to the Judiciary Committee and the governor by January 1, 2021 (SA 19-17, 

effective upon passage). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=16
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=93
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2019&bill_num=831
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Special+Act&which_year=2019&bill_num=17
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Juvenile Justice 

Department of Correction (DOC) and CSSD Requirements 

A new law requires the DOC commissioner and the CSSD executive director, by July 1, 2020, and in 

consultation with the Department of Children and Families (DCF) commissioner, to develop a best 

practices policy in juvenile detention centers and correctional facilities where individuals age 17 

and under are detained. The act specifies various issues the policy must address, such as suicidal 

and self-harming behaviors and the harmful effects of using chemical agents and prone restraints 

on detained individuals.  

 

The new law also requires the DOC commissioner and CSSD executive director to annually report to 

the Juvenile Justice Policy and Oversight Committee (JJPOC) on the following information regarding 

facilities they oversee or operate where individuals age 17 and younger are detained: 

1. suicidal and self-harming behaviors that detainees exhibit; 

2. uses of force against, and imposing physical isolation on, detainees; and  

3. any educational or mental health concerns for detainees.  

 

The act also requires the DOC commissioner and CSSD executive director to report monthly to 

JJPOC, starting by August 1, 2020, on each instance in which chemical agents or prone restraints 

were used on anyone age 17 or younger who is detained in such a facility (PA 19-187, §§ 3 & 4, 

effective upon passage, except the monthly reporting requirement is effective July 1, 2020). 

 

Family with Service Needs (FWSN) 

The bill postpones by one year, from June 30, 2019, to June 30, 2020, the deadline by which a 

party (e.g., a parent or police officer) may file a FWSN petition with the juvenile court for a child who 

(1) commits certain status offenses, such as running away from home, or (2) is out of the control of 

his or her parent or guardian (PA 19-187, §§ 8-10, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

JJPOC Requirements 

A new law requires JJPOC to review methods other states use to transfer juvenile cases to the adult 

criminal docket and detain children ages 15 through 17 whose cases are transferred to that 

docket. The review must consider: 

1. transfers of juvenile cases to the adult docket and outcomes associated with these transfers  

and 
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2. pre- and post-adjudication detention, including an examination of organizational and 

programmatic alternatives.  

 

By January 1, 2020, JJPOC must submit the review to the Judiciary Committee and include a plan 

for implementing any recommended changes by July 1, 2021, with cost options where appropriate 

(PA 19-187, § 2, effective October 1, 2019).  

 

National Prison Rape Elimination Commission (PREA) Compliance 

By law, state agencies and municipalities that incarcerate or detain adult or juvenile offenders 

must, within available appropriations, adopt and comply with the applicable standards 

recommended by PREA for preventing, detecting, monitoring, and responding to sexual abuse in 

prisons, jails, correctional facilities, juvenile facilities, and lock-ups. 

 

A new law requires any state agency head or the chief elected official or governing legislative body 

of any municipality that detains juvenile offenders to annually certify, by January 15, that it 

complies with the PREA standards to OPM’s Criminal Justice Policy and Planning Division (PA 19-

187, § 5, effective July 1, 2020).  

 

Risk to Public Safety 

Under existing law, the court may only order a child to be detained after he or she is arrested for an 

alleged crime on certain grounds, including probable cause to believe that the level of risk that the 

child poses to public safety if released to the community cannot be managed in a less restrictive 

setting. A new law specifies that a court may determine that a child poses a risk to public safety if 

the child: 

1. has previously been adjudicated delinquent for or convicted of or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to two or more felony offenses; 

2. has had two or more prior probation dispositions; and 

3. is charged with committing 1st, 2nd, or 3rd degree larceny involving a motor vehicle (PA 19-

110, § 2, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Suspension of Delinquency Proceedings for Fire Starting Behavior 

Treatment or Motor Vehicle Theft or Misuse Treatment  

A new law allows a child charged with a delinquency offense involving an “act of fire starting” to file 

a motion with the court for an evaluation to determine if he or she would benefit from participating 

in a fire-starting behavior treatment program.  
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Another new law allows a child charged with a delinquency offense involving a motor vehicle to 

request a suspension of the delinquency proceedings for up to six months, during which time the 

child must participate in services to address any condition or behavior directly related to the 

offense.  

 

Both laws permit the court to suspend the delinquency proceeding so the child may attend the 

program or participate in services as appropriate, and if he or she successfully completes the 

program or services and complies with the suspension order, the court may dismiss the 

delinquency charges. A child is ineligible for the suspended proceedings if he or she (1) was 

previously granted a suspended prosecution for such treatment or services or (2) is charged with a 

serious juvenile offense (PA 19-135, effective July 1, 2019, and PA 19-110, effective October 1, 

2019). 

 

Transfers from Juvenile Court 

Under existing law, the juvenile court must automatically transfer a delinquency case to the adult 

criminal court docket if the child is at least age 15 and charged with murder with special 

circumstances, a class A felony, or certain class B felonies. Otherwise, the court has discretion in 

transferring a case where a juvenile is charged with a felony and only if the prosecutor makes a 

motion and the court makes certain findings.  

 

A new law allows the adult court to return an automatically transferred juvenile case back to 

juvenile court if the charges are reduced to a charge that would have allowed a discretionary 

transfer. It subjects such returns to existing law’s requirements for returns of discretionary transfers 

(i.e., the return must be for good cause shown and done before the court or jury renders a verdict or 

the defendant pleads guilty). 

 

Under the act, when a case is transferred from the juvenile delinquency court to the adult criminal 

docket, the transferred proceeding must be private and conducted separately and apart from the 

other parts of the court that are being used for proceedings involving adult defendants. The records 

generally must remain confidential (with certain exceptions for victims), as required for juvenile 

records under existing law, unless and until a guilty plea or verdict is entered in the case on the 

regular criminal docket (PA 19-187, § 1, effective October 1, 2019).  
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Law Enforcement 

Civil Immigration Detainers 

A new law makes several changes to the state’s civil immigration detainer law. Among other things, 

the new law expands the definition of a civil immigration detainer and generally prohibits law 

enforcement officers (including adult probation officers), bail commissioners, school police or 

security department employees, and certain judicial branch employees from arresting or detaining 

someone pursuant to such a detainer unless it is accompanied by a judicial warrant. However, the 

new law allows an individual to be arrested and detained pursuant to such an immigration detainer 

without a judicial warrant if the individual (1) has been convicted of a class A or B felony or (2) is 

identified as a possible match in the federal Terrorist Screening Database or similar database. The 

new law also (1) establishes new procedures for responding to such detainers and (2) limits the 

disclosure of certain confidential information to a federal immigration authority. 

 

It also requires (1) municipalities to report specified information every six months to OPM, if their 

law enforcement agency provided Immigration and Customs Enforcement access to an individual 

and (2) OPM to ensure that the law enforcement agencies and school police or security 

departments receive appropriate training (PA 19-20, as amended by PA 19-23, effective October 1, 

2019). 

 

Display of International Registration Plan Documents 

A new law adds protections for when vehicle registration and other International Registration Plan 

documents are displayed on an electronic device. It specifically allows motor carrier registrants to 

present those documents electronically on a cell phone or other electronic device, instead of in 

paper form, to people who are required or authorized to view them in connection with their 

employment (e.g., law enforcement officers and DMV personnel) (PA 19-119, §§ 3 & 4, effective 

July 1, 2019). 

 

Family Violence Arrests 

Existing law generally requires a peace officer, in responding to a family violence complaint made 

by two or more opposing parties, to arrest the person the officer believes is the dominant 

aggressor. Under a new law, this does not apply to the following, unless they are family or 

household members: (1) college or university students residing in on- or off-campus housing owned, 

managed, or operated by the institution or (2) tenants who live together in a residential rental 

property (PA 19-189, effective October 1, 2019). 
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Illegal Recording of Private Telephone Conversations 

Existing law generally prohibits anyone from recording a private telephone conversation without 

consent, verbal notification, or an automatic warning, but it exempts, among others, federal, state, 

or local criminal law enforcement officials who record telephonic communications in the lawful 

performance of their duties. A new law extends this exemption to such officials’ agents and those 

requested or directed to do so by such officials or agents (PA 19-132, § 3, effective October 1, 

2019). 

 

Law Enforcement Records 

A new law makes certain victims’ identifying information included in law enforcement investigation 

and arrest records exempt from Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) public disclosure requirements. 

Prior law exempted a law enforcement agency from disclosing a victim’s name and address in any 

detection or investigation records of the following crimes or attempted crimes: (1) sexual assault; 

(2) voyeurism; and (3) risk of injury to a minor. The act expands this disclosure exemption to include 

victims of family violence or attempted family violence. 

 

Prior law also limited law enforcement agencies’ redaction of certain arrest records to witnesses’ 

identities and any information about a crime’s commission deemed prejudicial or sealed by court 

order. The act further allows agencies to redact from arrest records the name, address, or other 

identifying information of any victim of the following crimes or attempted crimes: (1) sexual assault; 

(2) voyeurism; (3) risk of injury to a minor; and (4) family violence (PA 19-43, effective October 1, 

2019). 

 

Motor Vehicle Inspectors as Peace Officers 

A new law expands a statutory definition of peace officer to include DMV motor vehicle inspectors 

who have Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) certification. Under prior law, motor 

vehicle inspectors had many, but not all, of the powers and protections afforded to these peace 

officers. For example, under the act, such inspectors are allowed to be considered peace officers 

for purposes of the state’s Blue Alert system, which can be used to apprehend anyone suspected of 

killing or seriously injuring a peace officer or locate any officer who is missing (PA 19-108, effective 

October 1, 2019).     

 

Police Accountability 

The legislature passed legislation making various changes to state laws on (1) law enforcement’s 

use of force, (2) body-worn and dashboard camera recording disclosures, and (3) police pursuits.  
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Among other things, the act requires law enforcement units to submit an annual use of force report 

to OPM. OPM must also (1) complete a preliminary status report when a peace officer uses physical 

force that results in death, which must be submitted to the legislature, and (2) make certain use of 

force reports available on its website.  

 

The act also (1) makes certain body-worn or dashboard camera recordings disclosable to the public 

within 96 hours after the incident, (2) narrows the instances during which use of deadly force is 

justified, and (3) generally prohibits a pursuing police officer from discharging a firearm into or at a 

fleeing motor vehicle.  

 

Lastly, the act (1) establishes a task force to study police transparency and accountability and (2) 

requires POST to study and review police officers using firearms during a pursuit (PA 19-90, 

effective October 1, 2019, except the task force and POST study provisions take effect upon 

passage). 

 

Police Mental Health Treatment and Surrendered Work Weapons  

A new law generally prohibits a law enforcement unit from disciplining police officers solely because 

they seek or receive mental health care services or surrender their work weapons or ammunition.  It 

also requires a unit to request that officers seek a mental health examination before returning their 

work weapons or ammunition. 

 

By law, it is generally a crime for a person to possess a firearm, ammunition, or electronic defense 

weapon within six months of voluntary admission to a psychiatric hospital for psychiatric 

treatment.  A new law creates an exception to this prohibition for police officers who surrendered 

their work weapons or ammunition and allows them to have these items returned during this time 

period without penalty (PA 19-17, §§ 4-6, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Protection of Confidential Communications between a First 

Responder and a Peer Support Team Member 

A new law makes communications between a first responder and a peer support team member 

confidential with certain exceptions. The confidentiality applies only to communications and records 

made in the course of a first responder’s participation in a peer support program established by his 

or her employer. The act generally prohibits a peer support team member from disclosing any 

confidential communications or records unless the first responder waives the privilege (PA 19-188, 

effective October 1, 2019).     
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State Marshals’ Annual Financial Filing 

A new law eliminates the requirement for state marshals to annually file financial interest 

statements that identify the amounts and sources of income earned in their official capacity (PA 19-

180, effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Transfer of Law Enforcement Agency Records between Agencies 

A new law exempts from liability a law enforcement agency that discloses certain criminal 

investigation records to another law enforcement agency that is authorized to receive them, if the 

receiving agency further discloses the records. The act applies to records that law enforcement 

agencies compile in connection with the detection or investigation of a crime, and that FOIA 

exempts from mandatory disclosure when disclosure is not in the public interest because it would 

reveal certain information (PA 19-30, effective July 1, 2019).     

 

Workers’ Compensation for Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) 

Under a new law, police officers and firefighters are allowed to receive certain workers’ 

compensation benefits for post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) caused by certain “qualifying 

events,” such as seeing, while in the line of duty, a deceased minor, someone’s death, or a 

traumatic physical injury that results in the loss of a vital body part.    

 

More specifically, the new law (1) establishes the eligibility requirements for these officers and 

firefighters to receive PTSD benefits; (2) limits the benefits’ (a) duration to 52 weeks and (b) 

availability to within four years after the qualifying event; (3) caps an officer’s or firefighter’s weekly 

PTSD benefits, when combined with the amount of other benefits he or she receives (e.g., from 

Social Security), at his or her average weekly wage; and (4) establishes a process for employers to 

contest PTSD claims (PA 19-17, §§ 1-3 & 11-12, most provisions effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Miscellaneous 

Acquittee Images and Recordings 

A new law establishes conditions under which DMHAS must provide the attorney for an acquittee 

(i.e., a person found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect) the right to review 

certain images or recordings of the acquittee that were taken at a DMHAS inpatient facility.  

 

Among other conditions, (1) the acquittee, and any other identifiable patient in the image or 

recording, must consent to the disclosure and (2) the image or recording must not be the subject of 

a pending criminal investigation (PA 19-151, § 2, effective upon passage). 
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Criminal History Records Checks for School Personnel 

This session the legislature made changes to laws governing criminal history records checks for 

school personnel. Among other things, it passed a law requiring the State Police Bureau of 

Investigation, rather than the regional education service center arranging for fingerprinting of 

school personnel, to provide the criminal history records check results to the requesting school 

operator. Additionally, the new law requires DESPP to waive the fees for criminal history records 

checks for student teachers who are fulfilling college credit requirements in schools (PA 19-91,  

§§ 1 & 3, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Criminal Record Council 

A new law establishes a 20-member Council on the Collateral Consequences of a Criminal Record 

and charges it with (1) studying discrimination faced by people living with a criminal record and (2) 

developing legislative recommendations to reduce or eliminate discrimination based on a person’s 

criminal history. The council must hold at least three public forums and submit recommendations 

to the Labor and Public Employees Committee by February 1, 2020 (PA 19-142, effective July 1, 

2019). 

 

Crossing Railroad Tracks 

Existing law prohibits people from crossing railroad tracks when warned of an approaching railroad 

locomotive, car, or train. A new law additionally prohibits a person from crossing railroad tracks 

when warned of other equipment on the tracks. A violation is an infraction (PA 19-119, § 13, 

effective October 1, 2019). 

 

Mobile Telephone and Electronic Device Use by School Bus Drivers  

By law, school bus drivers, while driving a bus carrying passengers, are prohibited from using a 

hand-held mobile telephone or other electronic device, including those with hands-free accessories, 

except to (1) place emergency calls to school officials or (2) use such a telephone for emergency 

communications. 

 

A new law additionally allows these drivers to use a hand-held mobile telephone or mobile 

electronic device in the same manner as a two-way radio for any real-time communication with 

school officials and those professionals and entities listed above (PA 19-119, § 15, effective 

October 1, 2019).  
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Parking Tickets by Independent Higher Education Institutions and 

Private High Schools 

A new law allows independent higher education institutions and private high schools to issue 

parking citations and impose monetary sanctions, including by written warning, posted signs, or any 

other means, to owners of vehicles parked on their property (PA 19-140, effective upon passage).     

 

School Security  

A new law requires DESPP to (1) update state school security and safety plan standards, (2) 

simplify certain school security reporting requirements and school security infrastructure grant 

applications, and (3) develop criteria to identify qualified school security consultants and limit the 

existing registry to such individuals only. It also adds related duties for the State Department of 

Education (SDE) and the School Safety Infrastructure Council (PA 19-52, most sections are effective 

upon passage).     

 

Another new law requires DESPP, in consultation with SDE, to revise by October 1, 2019, its “school 

security and safety plan standards” to include provisions about “emergency communication plans”  

These plans are required under a new law for students who have 504 accommodation plans 

because they are deaf or hard of hearing or both blind or visually impaired and deaf. Emergency 

communication plans contain procedures to alert these students and ensure that their specific 

needs are met during an emergency situation (PA 19-184, § 4, effective upon passage). 

 

Prison 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) Emergency Certificates 

at Correctional Facilities 

A new law allows APRNs, under certain conditions, to issue emergency certificates to require 

hospitalization for up to 72 hours of prison inmates with psychiatric disabilities. It applies to all 

APRNs employed by DOC to provide mental health care at correctional facilities. The APRN must 

reasonably believe, based on a direct evaluation, that the person has a psychiatric disability, is 

dangerous to himself or herself or others or gravely disabled, and needs immediate care and 

treatment (PA 19-117, § 96, effective July 1, 2019). 

 

Ambulance Services for Inmates 

By law, DOC may transfer an inmate in a correctional facility who requires hospitalization for 

medical care to a hospital with facilities for such care.  
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A new law requires the DOC commissioner, before October 1, 2019, to revise the department’s 

payment methodology for ambulance services a municipality provides to an inmate who requires 

transfer to a hospital for medical care. The revision must ensure that if the inmate does not have 

private health insurance, DOC will reimburse the municipality for the ambulance services at the 

same rate it is contractually obligated to pay non-municipal ambulance service providers (PA 19-9, 

effective July 1, 2019).  

 

DOC Ombudsman Services 

A new law requires the DOC commissioner to hire an ombudsman to provide certain services to 

individuals age 18 or younger who are in his custody. Under the act, “ombudsman services” 

includes taking and investigating complaints from individuals in custody regarding the department’s 

decisions, actions or omissions, policies, procedures, rules, and regulations. The individuals in 

custody must reasonably pursue a resolution of the complaint through any existing internal DOC 

grievance procedures, prior to obtaining ombudsman services (PA 19-117, § 68, effective July 1, 

2019). 

 

Inmate Claims 

A new law allows an inmate, his or her legal representative, or the legal representative of an 

inmate’s estate, who makes a written request for documents to DOC to receive them under certain 

circumstances. The act applies to requests for documents in DOC’s possession relating to injuries 

an inmate suffers while incarcerated that result in fatality or permanent disability. 

 

The new law requires the department to ensure that the documents are provided within 60 days 

after receiving the written request unless the disclosure (1) could pose a risk to safety and security, 

(2) violates a common law privilege, or (3) is prohibited by state or federal law (PA 19-80, effective 

October 1, 2019).  

 

Opioid Treatment for Inmates 

Recent legislation requires the DOC commissioner to provide inmates who self-identify as suffering 

from or relapsing into an opioid use disorder with information on treatment options. The 

information must (1) be provided at least 45 days before the inmate is released from DOC custody 

and (2) include ways to access treatment options after being released into the community (PA 19-

167, effective October 1, 2019).  
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Victim Rights and Services 

Sexual Assault Forensic Examiner (SAFE) Program 

This year, the legislature made various changes to the Office of Victim Services’ (OVS) SAFE 

program. Among other things, a new law: 

1. expands the types of health care providers that may become sexual assault forensic 

examiners and requires all examiners to successfully complete certification requirements 

implemented by the Chief Court Administrator; 

2. modifies the types of health care facilities where sexual assault forensic examinations take 

place;  

3. reinstates the SAFE Advisory Committee and requires it to recommend to OVS policies and 

procedures for the SAFE program; and 

4. authorizes the Chief Court Administrator to implement the committee’s recommendations as 

policies and procedures (PA 19-114, as amended by PA 19-118, §§ 43 & 44, effective July 

1, 2019). 

 

Victim Compensation  

A new law allows OVS or a victim compensation commissioner to order compensation for pecuniary 

loss to an injured victim or the relatives or dependents of an injured or deceased victim for 

attending juvenile proceedings and Board of Pardons and Parole hearings (PA 19-64, § 13, 

effective October 1, 2019). 
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